A Gaga Halloween Part 1

October 17, 2009 at 12:22 am (General costuming)

So this is Part One of my Halloween Costume construction. It is picture heavy so I apologize to all those using dial up. I also apologize for the poor quality photos. I don’t have a digital camera but I do have a webcam so that’s what I use. At least it’s better than nothing.

The shirt that I am coverting into a skirt was $1.25 at my local JCPenny [ultra clearance rack] and a size 3XXX, which I didn’t realize until after I brought it back to my dorm. I seam ripped it, mostly,  into the above pieces and further broke them down to the pieces below. I decided to add a ruffle at the bottom below the awesomely placed draw string so I cut up the tank top into rectangles and shortened the skirt body so that it was mini-er [14 inches]. I have yet to figure out how to use the shirred collar.

The waistband is made out of a strip of jersey or tee shirt fabric.I cut up the sleeves and forgot to make the side inserts triangular in this step which turned out to bite me in the butt later on.

Below is a digital swatch of what the pattern of the fabric is since it looks a lot like broad marbled pinstripe from the above photos. It’s got a really interesting almost dripping cobweb look to it that I like.

Below is the gore after the disaster. I forgot that rectangles don’t fit into slits as well as triangles do and in order to compensate I tried to stitch down the overlap. Needless to say it turned out a royal mess and I had to seam rip out the stitches and start over, tracing and pinning. The gore has a 1 inch seam allowance because I want there to be drawstrings there as well. The skirt will already be uneven due to the sloping sides but what’s another inch or so? I added the gores in order to create a more effective gather. Even though Lady Gaga is known for her skin tight clothes I also wanted to incorporate my love for Gothic Lolita. So the skirt will plume with a subtle cone shape which is typical in EGL sillohouttes. I left my netting at home so I plan on just making a tiered under skirt. Besides netting wouldn’t be as warm as, say, jersey.

Leave a Reply

