A Late Night Blurb

March 25, 2010 at 5:01 am (Updates) (, , , , , , , , )

I haven’t blogged in awhile so I figure I’ll just make an intsy wintsy post about stuff that’s going on.

Well currently I’m waiting for the two tablets of Tylenol to kick in. I’ve had a headache since this evening and I have stress, B.O., lack of food for that. I’ve been working nonstop in the costume shop for the Alice in Wonderland ballet for ORB. All costumes have to be ready by Sunday so not only is Julie freaking out, so am I.

Ma Rainey is this weekend and I’m excited about it. If you don’t know about Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom by August Wilson…well shame on you. It’s a classic tale of negroes and blues, tailored and embellished with enriching monologues, late 1920s jazz, death, and complicated bisexual relationships. It’s interesting and I’m glad to be a part of it. So consider this a large shout out to Connor who has been a terrific director and organizer. Without him I don’t think this performance would be much of anything.

To go along with Ma Rainey I’ve decided that I would make my own dress for the performance. I don’t have anything that would fit in with the atmosphere so I’ve whipped up a dress in about two days. I would be working on it tonight but I just got out of rehearsal, the back of my eyes hurt, I don’t have the patience, I’m tired and I just want to spend some quality time with my laptop and the boy before I get some shut eye.

Esteban is supposed to be doing my hair tomorrow so to go long with my headache, my forehead is aching from where I took out my weave. A little conditioner does wonders on hair glue. The irritating part of it though is that now that the track is off there are little impressions of hair glue in my actual hair. I’ve combed, tirelessly, it all out only to come to the realization that once Ma Rainey is over, they’ll be right back where I put them plus more tracks.

The work never ends.

Leave a Reply

