Mini update(s)

May 23, 2010 at 6:18 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

I figure that overwhelming you with what I’ve been doing lately would be very cruel and oh so unusual. So periodically throughout the day, or rather sitting here and adding more and more posts one after the other, I’m going to be updating my blog like a monkey on crack. There’s just so much to be done.

Update #1: Finally a sketch makes an appearance

Between fighting the tension beginning to build in my house and dealing with a naturally hyperactive five year old, I’m starting to believe she’s made out of truvia leaves, I got down to business sketching things out.

I know the lines of tape are obnoxious and more visible then I would like to see them but just ignore them. Also ignore the fact that I am not an artist and my Project runway sketches would not be fierce.

Things pictured:

1. The modification of the original sketch, changing the blouse top to something ‘wench-like’.

2. The skirt is less pleated but the same fullness due to the petticoat beneath it. The skirt is still a circle skirt for the sake of pleats and gathers. It will be built into the top.

3.  I’ve fallen in love with the large shoulder ruffles so they’ve stayed as part of the straps.

4. The possible inclusion of fingerless glove armwarmer type things that sport the shape of mudkip’s tail at the bottom back.

5. The apron is still the same round ruffle-y thing with a large bow in the back.

Things not shown:

1. I’m still toying with the idea of adding spats to match the armwarmer gloves. It would complete the outfit, sort of like a CardCaptor Sakura outfit.

2. The tail. It will be plush so it stands out. [I have too much polyfiberfill laying around here for it not to.] 

3. The headband that is bright orange and will have all sorts of embellishments on it.

4. Last but not least, the inclusion of crochet flower panels. It’ll add girl-y-ness and save me some money on fabric. I can’t tell you how much blue yarn has just been lying around the place.

Leave a Reply

