Whatever happened to spongebaths and free delivery?

June 2, 2010 at 7:42 pm (Uncategorized)

Yesterday my father promised around 2:00 that he would be back with chicken. Not just be back with chicken but rejuvenate his culinary skills and make me some soup. The soup would just have to wait until around 7:00 when he got back from work. I napped, watched TV through some sunglasses and managed to stand ten minutes of ‘MIM’ until 7:00 and still no soup arrived  for me to endure a headache to eat. 8:30 rolled around and I was nibbling on two fried chicken legs, seasoned fries, and a buttery biscuit from Popeyes that really didn’t taste like Popeyes because my tastebuds were also infected. But I shouldn’t be complaining…I didn’t have to pay for it and even though the iced tea was warm at least it had some sugar and flavor to it. [Spoken like a true juice addict.]

Being sick over the years has gone from favorable to the worst thing that could ever happen. The diseases just seem to hit harder and life takes an irreversable pause. Time that could be spent with friends is spent in bed with tissues up both nostrils, coughing, wheezing, and gulping down the grossiest medicine on the market. Time tends to taunt as it seems to speed up and slow down whenever you look at it the wrong way. Before you know it, you’ve been laying on your back for 10 hours, 12, 24, or 48 hours, sipping on water and laying still to ease the screams in your joints.

There’s no benefit to being sick when you’re 19 years old in June. School is over and the heat is unbearable. Your friends Facebook you constantly to know where the fudge you’ve been at…it’s the most miserable and unrewarding thing that could ever happen. But I’ve learned to cope with it as well as learned a few things:

1. I will never wear lipgloss ever again. According to Dr. Oz, 7 lbs of petrolium jelly will end up in my system if I wear it every day for the next ten years.

2. Iced tea is worth the stabbing pain in my throat.

3. Lukewarm showers, on the verge of being just plain cold, are the best showers.

4. I hate internet when I’m sick. Especially IM. Especially when my boyfriend IMs me. Normally I would be overjoyed to talk to him but maybe I’m still bitter at the fact that in order to have a very one-sided cam chat I -had- to download AIM.

5. And it kills me, how much I really love you, Melanie Fiona.

Leave a Reply

