A Sellout Winning An Award? An Unfortunate Event @ the World Music Awards

June 18, 2010 at 1:36 am (General, Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

I usually don’t watch these things. Not the Grammys, the Oscars, the Tonies, none of them. And now I know why.

I don’t know how it happened. Well scratch that, I know exactly how it happened. They pinned a Trance DJ against a pop electro DJ against a Progressive DJ against a Progressive electro DJ and let a crowd that listens to Lady Gaga, Ke$ha, and Black Eyed Peas do the judging.

To say that I’m a little pissed and a little unhappy is an understatment.

And yes I understand that these votes may be based on CD sales and if that is true DJ Tiesto would have won hands down. DJ Tiesto was making music before David Guetta even decided he wanted to make music. He was the DJ that even got me into the electronic genre of music. According to DJ MAG for 7+ years in a row DJ Tiesto is the DJ King of the whole genre’s world. So how did one sell out win over a bigger sell out? I’m still reeling so I don’t even know.

Maybe it’s because DJ Tiesto hasn’t collaborated with the likes of Akon, Will I Am or Kelly Rowland, connections to such a bigger crowd than just electro and trance fans. But that doesn’t even explain why David Guetta won ‘Best Producer’ over Akon. Akon! The guy who produces Lady Gaga for cripe’s sake!  The woman who’s won ‘Best Pop Act’ and ‘Best Pop Rock Act’ thus far tonight over artists such as Justin Beiber, Madonna, and Ke$ha [no surprise there].

Am I alone in this? Am I the only one who mildly likes David Guetta but horridly dislikes the way that he just swept the rug away from some of the greatest ‘near mainstream’ DJs the electronic music genre has ever known?

Just because the guy on the radio doesn’t give them the right to say that he should the award, let alone TWO. Maybe he deserves it. Maybe I’m just being biased against all things pop. But get this. I love Lady Gaga. I am a little monster. I have an affinity for Madonna, the Black Eyed Peas, and Elton John. I will even admit to having listened to ‘Blah Blah Blah’ on repeat for ten minutes. All pop. So what does that say? Anyone?

I feel like the outrage is all mine. But someone has to be angered by this? Maybe even a little bit saddened that our music genre has started to get that decay like tooth enamel? Time to move on and listen to some Isaac James because this is definitely a ‘Darker Shade of White’. Or Erik Decks since my obsession is a ‘Wild Obsession’.

Hmph.

Next thing you know Benny Benassi will be at the World Music Awards. Or maybe the Dark Oscillators. Suck on that Hollywood Music Scene. I see you Paris Hilton!

Leave a Reply

