A Sketch I Think Can Get Behind

November 11, 2011 at 3:38 am (Uncategorized)

Today whilst working I realized that I haven’t sketched out this project like I have all the others. Please keep in mind that I am not an artist. Fashion sketches are beyond me.

I’m feeling pretty productive when it comes to ironing out and finalizing design conflicts.

I know you’re not blind but I just wanted to point out that the top front is sketched twice. I’ve settled on the bottom version of the front because it satisfies my need for an empire waist as well as my need to have some gathering at my lower back to make the skirt more full. I’m sure you’ll agree when I say that having a bunch of gathering several inches below an empire waist would look awkward and unbalanced. If I move the gathering up the robe will look more like a round gown than a kimono. The bottom is also how Jenny closes hers. Coincidence? No, don’t even think that for a second. The copying is quite deliberate here.

I’m also toying with the idea of adding tassles to the edges of my belt to keep with the Titanic original. I have a bunch of gold seed and bugle beads I can play around with and use. They are reserved for my steampunk headdress but that is not getting completed anytime soon. [I really should get on that though. Meh.]

I’m trying to keep this costume as simple and as light as possible and so far it is. Sorta. It would be simpler if I hadn’t added all of the undergarments but I’m dedicated to them now. So if you haven’t been following the layers here they are from the outside to skin:

Robe
Over skirt
Petticoat [for warmth?] <– Honestly I think I added the second petticoat because I’m afraid of the hoopskirt lampshade effect.
Corded petticoat
Ribbon corset
Camisole

As far as the light business goes, I’ve been contemplating keeping the chiffon tricot. It’s a lot lighter than the organza but it’s not as sturdy. In the beginning I liked both but I figured that beading on the organza would be safer. Then again I’m intent on keeping the inside of the sleeves nice and lined so that all of the stitches and tabs don’t show. The organza might be too heavy in combination with the lining for the sleeves to flow properly. Unless, I could somehow cut out hollow cloud shapes and tack them to the inside so that I won’t have to line the hole inside of the sleeve. Hmmmm…

Update 10:30 p.m: I think I can live without the chiffon. I’m pretty sure about this decision.

Leave a Reply

